Books · Reviews

Book Thoughts: The Night Circus (Erin Morgenstern)

Morgenstern, Erin - The Night Circus

★★★★★★☆ 

Title: The Night Circus
Author: Erin Morgenstern
Genre: Fiction, Fantasy
First published: 2011
Edition: Paperback, published by Vintage Books in 2012

WARNING! Minor spoilers.

This book had been on my to-read list for a while. Its artwork as intriguing to me as its title.

As soon as I started reading I knew I would love this book. The images it weaves are as magical as the circus it is set in and I found it a joy to read.

However, throughout I kind of felt the characters could do with fleshing out a bit more, and I felt disconnected from some of them. I cared about them, but not as much as I sometimes felt I should. I felt myself most drawn to characters such as Bailey and the Murray twins rather than Celia and Marco, whose romance I sometimes did not quite believe enough.

This is a minor gripe though and I am glad I finally read this book. I will be keeping it on my shelf as I am sure I will be reading it again in the future.

It would give bonus points for using the word ‘discombobulated’ on page 422, but I think six stars is quite enough!

6 out of 7 stars

2 thoughts on “Book Thoughts: The Night Circus (Erin Morgenstern)

  1. The more I think about this book, the more it reminds me of a photograph or a poem. I enjoyed The Night Circus, it was pretty, it was fun… but there wasn’t any “there” there. It was a beautiful image that didn’t have a plot.

    1. That’s a lovely way of thinking about the book and I think you may be right. I wonder how I remember The Night Circus in a few weeks time. It’s a very special original tale, that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

