Books · Book Haul

British Book Haul

With a trip to the UK for a family visit on the cards I could not resist the temptation of stocking up on some books!

I ordered some used and new books via Amazon and had them delivered to my in-laws. I managed to pop into a couple of charity shops as well while I was there and picked up some more!

170809 England Trip - Box

Safely back home again, I have fattened up my TBR shelf nicely!

Firstly, the books I got via Amazon, whether it’s the Marketplace or Amazon itself:

So, without further ado, here are the books I had ordered in advance, mostly second-hand from Amazon or their Marketplace:

The Cemetery of Forgotton Books #2: The Angel’s Game (Carlos Ruiz Zafon)

The Cemetery of Forgotten Books #3: The Prisoner of Heaven (Carlos Ruiz Zafon)

The Night Circus (Erin Morgenstern)

Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Laini Taylor)

Imagine Me Gone (Adam Haslett)

Hyddenworld #2: Awakening (William Horwood)

Hyddenworld #4: Winter (William Horwood)

The Dark Legacy of Shannara #2: Bloodfire Quest (Terry Brooks)

The Dark Legacy of Shannara #3: Witch Wraith (Terry Brooks)

The Blood of Flowers (Anita Amirrezvani)

Monsters of Verity #1: This Savage Song (V.E. Schwab)

Monsters of Verity #2: Our Dark Duet (V.E. Schwab)

The Bees (Laline Paull)

I had a myriad of reasons to order the above books. The Terry Brooks, William Horwood and Carlos Ruiz Zafon book I bought to complete a series I have already started and enjoyed. Though in the case of the Hyddenworld series by William Horwood, I still need to get my hands on book #3 Harvest.

I really wanted to read The Night Circus and by now I have already done so! I forgot to include that book in the pictures as well… Oops!

Imagine Me Gone is a book I have been wanting to read for ages after reading a review in a magazine somewhere a few months ago.

I wanted to try the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series and I wanted to read something by V. E. Schwab.

The Bees sounded really intriguing and fits in with my love of bees and books written from an animal perspective.

The Blood of Flowers is a book I have already read when I borrowed it from a library and I loved it, so I was keen to own it and read it again at some point in the future.

***

170809 England Trip - paperbacks170809 England Trip

That is already quite a few books, but I could not resist the pull of the charity shops. What I love about going into a charity shop is that I never know what I will come out with. Maybe I might buy a book simply because the cover looks nice, or the spine, or the title is intriguing, not because it is on my ‘want to read’ list, and I like that. I tried not to go crazy. My husband was giving me that look! Ha!

Anyway, I got the following books from Cancer Research, Oxfam and FARA:

Rivers of London (Ben Aaronovitch)

Northanger Abbey (Jane Austen) – also includes some shorter stories I have not read yet!

Red Rising (Pierce Brown)

The Further Adventures of Sherlock Holmes: The Albino’s Treasure  (Stuart Douglas)

Looking For Alaska (John Green)

The Red Queen (Philippa Gregory)

Written in the Stars (Ali Harris)

Chocolat (Joanna Harris)

The Ruby in the Smoke (Philip Pullman)

Around The World in Eighty Days (Jules Verne)

There you go, a nice eclectic bunch of books.

Excluding The Night Circus, there are still 22 books to read! Yay!

 

 

Leave a Reply

