Books · Currently Reading

‘ Currently Reading’ Update #4

So I finished Talking to the Dead by Helen Dunmore last night. It was my book for challenge 6 (read a book you bought because of the cover) of my Booktube-A-Thon Stretched reading challenge that I set myself. I liked it, but did not love it.

It’s about a third into the month and I have finished three books. That is not bad going for me!

Prince, Peter - Waterloo StoryI picked up Waterloo Story by Peter Prince as my ‘downstairs’ book a couple of days ago. This is my book for challenge 1 (Read a book with a person on the cover) and also part of my own personal ‘read all the books I’ve had for donkey’s years’ challenge. As was Talking to the Dead by the way. Waterloo Story is a bit meh, the subject matter a bit boring, but it reads away quite easily, having short chapters. The protagonist has a pleasant enough voice and I cannot help but kind of like him. The book has only 2 out of 5 stars on Goodreads, but so far I think it deserves slightly more and I am about halfway.

The Forge of God (Forge of God, #1)I also picked up The Forge of God by Greg Bear today. Now, I am not much of a Sci-Fi reader… or watcher. I do love Star Wars I must admit, but Sci-Fi books? Generally not my thing. But… In the vein of having to try everything at least once, I thought I would. Plus it has been sitting on our shelves for ages. It’s my husband’s and when he reads (which is not that often) he tends to read Sci-Fi… or non-fiction science-y type stuff. He’s much cleverer than me! I am about 30 pages in and the aliens are already present. Not sure how I am going to cope! Why is it that I am ok with elves and monsters and unicorns, but get the shivers at the mere mention of aliens? Alas, I will persevere! I might get into it. I hope I will – it’s 500 pages or thereabouts…

 

Leave a Reply

