Books · Read in 2024 · Reviews

Book Thoughts: What They Said About Luisa (Erika Rummel)

An interesting way to tell a story

★★★★☆ – CALSPIE: 7.43

Title: What They Said About Luisa
Author: Erika Rummel
Genre: Fiction / Historical Fiction
First Published: 18 June 2024 by Dundurn Press
Edition: E-book courtesy of NetGalley and the publisher

This was an interesting novel. It was inspired by a true story and follows a woman in the 1500s, but only through the eyes of the people around her. We never hear her own voice. I thought this was such a good concept and the execution was good, even if the narrative did not always grab me.

By using various people around her as the narrators, Luisa never quite develops into a fully formed person. We only see her as others see her and through her actions and words. This was definitely a novel way to tell someone’s story, but I am not quite sure it fully worked for me. Because of this, the reader is kept at a distance from her as well. Maybe that is where the strength of the novel lies, but I think I prefer being more in the head of characters.

My conclusion is that this is really a story told well and in an interesting way, but that I prefer a more intimate narrative, where I feel more connected to the main character. Still, the writing was good and I would recommend this as an interesting portrait of a person and a time period.

3.75 out of 5 stars

***

CALSPIE: 7.43

  • Characters: 7
  • Ambience: 7.5
  • Language: 8
  • Story: 7
  • Pacing: 7.5
  • Interest: 8
  • Enjoyment: 7

Leave a comment