Books · Read in 2024 · Reviews

Book Thoughts: Just The Way You Are (Beth Moran)

I am all for women standing on their own two feet

★★★★☆ – CALSPIE: 7.79

Title: Just The Way You Are
Author: Beth Moran
Genre: Fiction / Contemporary Fiction / Chick Lit / Romance
First Published: 2022
Edition: Kindle e-book

***

I read this mainly in the evenings in bed to relax. I read one of the author’s novels before, so I knew her writing worked for me. This was more a women’s fiction novel than a romance, but the element of romance was good enough for me.

I liked that this novel was about a woman trying to find happiness in her own right without needing anyone else. It starts out being about an overbearing mother, which was an interesting dynamic and relationship and then follows her as she builds a new life in a small village, forging new friendships and relationships. There were quite a few side characters, which made the story interesting, if a bit scattered in the latter half. There was a bit of unnecessary miscommunication and a couple of plotlines that could have done with a bit more page time. I wasn’t completely convinced by the second half.

Even if it did not completely work for me, I liked it well enough overall and I am sure I will read more from the author in the future.

4 out of 5 stars

***

CALSPIE: 7.57

  • Characters: 8
  • Ambience: 8
  • Language: 8
  • Story: 7.5
  • Pacing: 7.5
  • Interest: 7.5
  • Enjoyment: 8

Leave a comment