Books · WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesdays: 29 January 2020

 

WWW Wednesdays is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. Check out her blog!

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you will read next?

***

What am I currently reading?

I am currently listening to the audio book of This Is Going To Hurt by Adam Kay. When I had to choose an audio book I decided to go for one I already owned a physical copy of. I am glad I decided to go with this audio book, because Adam Kay narrates it himself and I love hearing him tell these stories rather than reading it. It was a good choice, even if it is a rather quick easy audio book.

200129 Currently Reading

I am reading On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous by Ocean Vuong. I am about 50 pages in and it is beautifully written. It is quite unique as it is written from a son’s perspective to his mother. This is a book I picked up this month. One of my goals is to try and read books I buy sooner. But then… one of my other goals was not to buy books… Oooooops!

What did I recently finish reading?

Since last week I have finished The Gathering Storm (Robert Jordan & Brandon Sanderson), on audio book. I really enjoyed the story, but was not so keen on the narration of the audio book. I will read the next book physically I think.

I also read Picnic at Hanging Rock by Joan Lindsay, which was a good read, but ultimately did not quite hit the spot.

Finally, I finished Epic Solitude by Katherine Keith just yesterday. It was an emotional read and very worthy of my time. In the second half of this memoir I felt much more connected to the author than in the first, but overall it was a powerful read.

Jordan, Robert - The Wheel of Time 13 Towers of Midnight (with Brandon Sanderson)What do I think I will read next?

I will start reading book 13 of The Wheel of Time in a couple of days I think. This is Towers of Midnight by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson. It’s a chunker at over 900 pages. I will likely also pick up something non-fantasy to read alongside. I am not sure what yet.

2 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays: 29 January 2020

    1. I am enjoying it – Although it reveals he reality of junior doctors working in the NHS, which is kind of hard to hear (but nothing new as I worked in the NHS for a decade), I am not finding it depressing at all. I would recommend it if you’re interested! I still have a bit to go.

Leave a comment