Books · WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesdays: 3 March 2021

Oh man, is it Wednesday again already? I felt I wrote one of these posts only yesterday! But no, February has turned to March and spring is in the air.

***

WWW Wednesdays’ home is at Sam’s blog Taking On A World of Words. Check it out!

The three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you will read next?

***

What are you currently reading?

I am listening to Listening to the Animals by Noel Fitzpatrick on audio. I am only a third in, but I am enjoying it. I just haven’t been listening to my audio book very much. I actually received the physical book for Christmas a couple of years ago, but it seemed like it would be a good audio book. So far it is.

I am reading Johannesburg by Fiona Melrose. Her book Midwinter is one of my favourite books and I have been putting this one off, because the reviews are not great and I am afraid to be disappointed. I am about 25 pages in and it’s interesting so far. Fingers crossed!

Finally, I am reading Kae Tempest’s On Connection. It’s a little book, a pamphlet really, about empathy and connection with people and creativity. It was calling to me. As a person who lives with a lot of big emotions its subject matter just appealed to me.

What did I recently finish reading?

I finished two books since last week, which were The City of Brass by S A Chakraborty. This is the first book in the Daevabad trilogy and I loved it! It was a 6-star read for me. Yesterday I finished Bob Boilen’s Your Song Changed My Life, in which 35 artists talk about the song that, well, changed their lives and tells a bit about the artists at the same time. It was a really interesting collection of people and it was a joy to read. Another 6* read. A good start to March.

What do I think I will read next?

I would like to continue the Cairo Trilogy by Naguib Mahfouz, so Palace of Desire is high on my TBR. There are other books calling to me. Some poetry maybe. I am not quite sure yet, but I am excited about whatever read I choose next, which is always a good sign!

3 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays: 3 March 2021

Leave a comment