Books · WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesdays: 24 March 2021

Can’t believe we are already this far into March and Covid restrictions have been in place for over a year. How are things going in your country? Have you been vaccinated yet? Fingers crossed we will all be vaccinated by summer and life can return to some sort of normality.

***

WWW Wednesdays’ home is at Sam’s blog Taking On A World of Words. Check it out!

The three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you will read next?

***

What am I currently reading?

I had a bit of a book hangover after The Secret History – I felt satisfied, but exhausted! So I picked up an easier read, which is Wilder Girls by Rory Power. I am only 70 pages in (and that took me three days 😂), but it feels like it would normally be a quick read. Hopefully my reading will pick up soon. I plan to put a bit of time aside today, as today I don’t have much on.

I have finally continued The Flowers of Evil by Charles Baudelaire. I am really enjoying this poetry. It’s so full of longing, a strange mix of romance and nihilism. I am not that far in yet, so I am curious to see what the rest of the poems will be like. I like this edition as it has the original French poem on one side and the English one on the other. My French is very bad, but I can sort of check whether the cadence of the original returns in the English translation and it seems that it does, which I am very pleased with.

Finally, I have started a new audio book. I chose Ayoade on Top by Richard Ayoade. I had heard such good things and it was in the Audible sale, so I figured now was the time. I am a third of the way through (it’s only short) and it is such a fun listen. It really is light relief in the best possible way.

What have I recently finished reading?

In the past week I have finished The Secret History by Donna Tartt, which was dense, but very good. It took me quite a long time to read, but it was so worth my time. 6/7 stars.

I also finished my audio book which was Thinking on my Feet by Kate Humble. It’s a book about walking throughout the course of one year, diary style. I found it a really relaxing read and I thoroughly enjoyed it. 6/7 stars.

What will I be reading next?

I have a few books that are high up on my TBR. I have the e-book of Where The Crawdads Sing by Celia Owens that I really want to get to ASAP, and I also want to continue the Cairo Trilogy by Naguib Mahfouz with Palace of Desire. I think those are the most likely candidates.

10 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays: 24 March 2021

  1. I found I couldn’t get into Wilder Girls, so I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it when the time comes. I thought it would be a quick(ish) read for me, but it took me nearly two weeks and I found it a struggle to stick with. I love the sound of the Richard Ayoade’s book, he’s so funny and never fails to make me laugh!

  2. I think you’ll enjoy Crawdads – especially if you ignore the hype and read it for what it is. I recently finished a Persephone book, “Milton Place”, which I’ve reviewed today, and am nearly done with Mike Parker’s excellent “On the Red Hill” about two gay couples in a Welsh village. I’m reading the actor Rebecca Front’s memoirs/essays (readable but a bit patchy) and am going on to Guvnor B’s memoir about growing up as a Black man on a London estate, which was published this month and came to me via NetGalley.

Leave a comment