Books · Read in 2024 · Reviews

Book Thoughts: Someone You Can Build A Nest In (John Wiswell)

Strange, original, gory and cosy all at once…

★★★★☆ – CALSPIE: 8.11

Title: Someone You Can Build A Nest In
Author: John Wiswell
Genre: Fantasy / Horror
Keywords: Original / shapeshifting / weirdness
First Published: to be published 11 April 2024 by Quercus Books
Edition: eARC, courtesy of Netgalley and the publisher

***

Sometimes a book is so wonderfully weird that you cannot help but admire the pure bizarreness of it. This is one of those. It’s odd, yet satisfying.

Although I have to admit the story did not completely pull me in, it definitely kept me engaged and appreciated the story in itself. It felt fresh and original and also kind of gross and fun at the same time.

I thought the love story that is at the heart of this novel was very heart-warming. The mutual respect and affection was beautifully written. I think we all need that warmth in another person to keep the monsters at bay.

I am not sure why I never quite felt immersed in the story itself. Perhaps it was the tone of the writing or the oddness of it, but something kept me at arm’s length a little.

Even so, I would happily recommend this to any reader who is looking for something that is a bit different, a bit gory in a strangely cosy way and with a big heart.

4 out of 5 stars

***

CALSPIE: 8.21

  • Characters: 8.5
  • Ambience: 8
  • Language: 8
  • Story: 9
  • Pacing: 8
  • Interest: 8
  • Enjoyment: 8

Leave a comment