Books · WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesdays: 31 March 2021

The last day of the month already, the clocks changed at the weekend, so it must surely mean spring is properly here. Finally! It has felt like a long winter.

***

WWW Wednesdays’ home is at Sam’s blog Taking On A World of Words. Check it out! (It’s her birthday today, so wish her a happy birthday!)

The three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you will read next?

***

What am I currently reading?

I am currently reading Where The Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens, but my reading has been a bit on the slow side. I like story so far, but I just haven’t found myself caught up in it yet. Hopefully I will. I had fully expected to finish it by the end of the month, but I’m not even halfway! Oh well 🙂

Same goes for The Flowers of Evil by Charles Baudelaire. I started this classic book of poetry quite early on in March and had expected to finish it by the end of the month, but I haven’t. It is not because I am not enjoying it. I am! In fact, I love these poems and that is also why I don’t just want to finish it just for the sake of finishing it. I want to enjoy these poems and take them in.

I started Pride and Prejudice on audio yesterday, read by actress Rosamund Pike. I was not sure what new audio book to pick and I have actually been meaning to re-read this one. It’s good, because it’s also when I can dip in and out of when I have a different audio book that I should read, as I know the story so well already. I have only just started, but I am enjoying listening to it!

What have I recently finished reading?

I did finish two shorter audio books and a paperback this past week, so I have done quite well. The two audio books were Ayoade on Top by Richard Ayoade and Notes on a Nervous Planet by Matt Haig. The first was wonderfully light relief and the second was kind of confronting, but really interesting to me and a relatively light read on mental health. Both were 6* reads for me.

I also finished Wilder Girls by Rory Power. This one was just ok for me. It did not quite grab me and I felt like it needed a little more flesh on its bones. (4*)

What will I be reading next?

It looks like last night my favourite music book club chose Scar Tissue by Anthony Kiedis (Red Hot Chili Peppers) to read next, so I will probably pause Pride and Prejudice and listen to that one on audio instead.

As for a physical book, since my reading is a bit slow I will be mood reading and just pick up what I feel like when I finish my current read.

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays: 31 March 2021

  1. I hope you enjoy the rest of Crawdads. I just finished a nice Cornwall-set novel I was sent via NetGalley and am reading Elizabeth von Arnim’s Expiation (another Persephone) and Adharanand Finn’s The Rise of the Ultra Runners (the former at mealtimes, the latter not as ultra running can be a little, erm, gritty to do, and read about!). Then I have a load of books to review for Shiny New Books to start, so need to spread out my reviews of these on the blog!

Leave a comment