Books · Poetry · Reviews

(Poetry) Book Thoughts: The Brush (Eliana Hernández-Pachón)

the power of poetry as a reminder of destructive death

★★★★☆ 1/2 – CALSPIE: 8.75

Title: The Brush
Author: Eliana Hernández-Pachón
Translator: Robin Myers
Genre: Poetry (narrative)
First Published: to be published 2 April 2024 by Archepelago Books
Edition: eARC, courtesy of Netgalley and the publisher

***

I read through this small book of poetry twice. Once without looking into the story behind it and once afterwards, knowing the horror of the events this narrative poem describes so calmly. Connecting it to the shocking events it was a reminder of made the hair at the back my neck stand up.

The poetry itself feels almost dreamlike, as if whatever happens exists on another plane. I found it profoundly unsettling when I read it the second time. The prose itself was beautiful. It was quite short. I am still wondering whether I wanted a bit more or whether it is just right the way it is.

To be honest, I am not quite sure how to talk about this one. It made an impression, that’s for sure. Between Pablo, Ester and the Brush, it tells a story and the truth of the story is between the lines. Beautifully done.

I am grateful that imprints like Archipelago publish smaller, yet important works like this.

4.5 out of 5 stars

Leave a comment